City of Laredo Commission for Women prepares to induct new Class of Hall of Fame honorees

Every two years, the Laredo Commission for Women selects a group of exceptional women to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Laredo Commission for Women

LAREDO, TX (KGNS) - Passion. Dedication. Determined. These are just a few of the words that best describes this next class of 11 outstanding women who have been selected as honorees for the Laredo Commission for Women Hall of Fame.

Every two years, the Laredo Commission for Women selects a group of exceptional women to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, recognizing them for their accomplishments to improving the Laredo community.

This year’s class includes:

(Arts, Media & Communication)

Diana Rendon Gutierrez, a businesswoman and talented woman who through her devotion to the art of dance has inspired many young women to strive to do their best, while also, serving the Laredo community unselfishly, even as she battled cancer.

Maria Eugenia Sandoval Lopez, a retired educator who taught with the Laredo Independent School District for 25 years and who through her work with school and civic organizations, has encouraged and inspired culture and theater and other oral performances among children.

Diana Treviño Juarez, an educator for 38 years with L.I.S.D., and who firmly believes that education is the key to success, evident in the success she has had with the students and teachers throughout the years in the various positions she’s held with the district, currently serving as the director of staff development.

Pamela Rodriguez Juarez, a trailblazer as the first woman accepted to Texas A&M University, and continuing on over the years as a teacher and other various positions within L.I.S.D., while now imparting wisdom and serving in the best interest of students of both school districts.

Dr. Martha Esquivel Villarreal, the current director of the Vidal M. Trevino School of Communication and Fine Arts, has contributed greatly to the education of Laredo’s community, throughout her years as an educator with L.I.S.D., as well as her service to children in need throughout Laredo.

(Health & Social Services)

Leticia Gonzalez, an RN and House Night Supervisor at Laredo Medical Center, a vocation that requires a lifetime of commitment and compassion.

(Law Enforcement)

Mucia Dovalina, whose 34-year career in criminal justice has spanned from beat cop and first female patrol supervisor with the Laredo Police Department to her distinguished career as a Chief Customs & Border Protection Officer and lead Public Affairs Officer for the agency, which demonstrates knowledge of her field and ability to communicate to the media, students, recruits and the public.

Clara Reed Torres, is the current Patrol Agent in Charge of the Laredo West Station for the U.S. Border Patrol and in her 21 years, has made significant contribution to improve the operations of the agency, including being the first woman to serve as Patrol Agent in Charge of the Intelligence Unit in the Laredo Sector.


Maria De La Luz Rodriguez Cardenas, is a true leader in Laredo, having served the community as a professor for 26 years at Laredo Community College, instrumental in the development of the college and its students, and now, involved with the Diocese of Laredo as the Family Life Director and the first lay woman Chancellor of the Diocese of Laredo.

Fay Mainhart, executive director of the Ruthe B. Cowl Rehabilitation Center, everyday demonstrates service to the Laredo community, and its people, whether it is in her leadership with various non-profit organizations to her role in helping to establish the City of Laredo’s recycling program off the ground.

Cynthia Haynes Ramirez, whose countless contributions as a teacher at Nixon High School for over 25 years, and later, as an advocate against domestic violence as a board member for Casa Misericordia, as well as involved in other local civic organizations, has made her a role model throughout Laredo.

The Thirteenth Women’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Sunday, March 30, 2014 at 11:00 a.m. at the Laredo Civic Center Ballroom, located at 2400 San Bernardo Avenue. Tickets are available: $25 per person or $200 for a table of 10.

For more information about the event or this year’s honorees, contact Amy J. Sanchez in the City Secretary’s Office at 791-7399 or via e-mail at

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KGNS-TV 120 W. Del Mar Blvd., Laredo, TX 78041 Fax: 956-267-8649 News Hotline: 956-723-5161 956.727.8888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 252332741 -
Gray Television, Inc.