School Bell Awards Program kicks off

The program honors educators from the community.

Many educators are honored.

LAREDO, TX (KGNS) - The Laredo Chamber of Commerce Education Committee announced the School Bell Awards Program at the United Independent School District Student Activity Complex this morning.

Several people were in attendance to formally kick off the recognition program that honors educators from the United and Laredo Independent School Districts, private and charter schools, Laredo Community College and Texas A&M International University.

Pictured at the press conference, front row, left to right, are: Macdonell Elementary School students Joshua Jimenez, 2nd grader, Kayla Jimenez, 5th grader, and Jayce Sanchez, 5th grader. Standing back row, left to right, are: Miguel Pescador, Chamber of Commerce Education Committee Chair, Javier Moctezuma, Chamber of Commerce Representative, Dr. A. Marcus Nelson, LISD Superintendent, Dr. Catheryn J. Weitman, TAMIU College of Education Dean, Jeannette G. Martinez, LISD Director of Instructional Television, Melissa Cruz, UISD Executive Director of School Improvement, Roni Yunes, UISD Director of Public Relations, and Miguel Conchas, President and CEO of the Chamber of Commerce.

The Chamber of Commerce will be sending the nomination applications to the various educational entities or an application may be picked up at the Chamber of Commerce located at 2310 San Bernardo Avenue during regular business hours.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
KGNS-TV 120 W. Del Mar Blvd., Laredo, TX 78041 Fax: 956-267-8649 News Hotline: 956-723-5161 956.727.8888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 248444141 -
Gray Television, Inc.