New Vermont law makes cars idling for five minutes illegal

By: Matt McGovern Email
By: Matt McGovern Email
Violators will receive a $10 ticket for the first offense, $50 for the second and $100 for the third.

The law is meant to cut down on carbon emissions and save fuel.

PLATTSBURGH, NY (WPTZ) - A new Vermont law makes it illegal to leave a car idling for more than five minutes.

The law is meant to cut down on carbon emissions and save fuel. Violators will receive a $10 ticket for the first offense, $50 for the second and $100 for the third.

There are exceptions. Police, fire and other emergency vehicles do not have to adhere to the rule.

Read more: http://bit.ly/1idESjU


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
KGNS-TV 120 W. Del Mar Blvd., Laredo, TX 78041 Fax: 956-267-8649 News Hotline: 956-723-5161 956.727.8888 email8@pro8news.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 258173031 - kgns.tv/a?a=258173031
Gray Television, Inc.